Clicking Here will take you to Google, remember to hide your tracks

Tahirih Explains “Safe Third Country” Rule

In 2019, the United States signed “safe third country” agreements with Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador. The agreements allow the United States to deny protections to asylum seekers, and remove them to any of these partner countries. A subsequent “safe third country” rule established procedures by which asylum seekers can be removed. In this fact sheet, Tahirih explains this “safe third country” rule, and how its full implementation would effectively end asylum in the United States.

See All