Clicking Here will take you to Google, remember to hide your tracks
Location Filter:
Topic Filter:
This article was originally published on December 06, 2007.

Tahirih Justice Center held its 10th Anniversary Fundraising Benefit on October 2, 2007, in Washington, DC. The evening was a resounding success and a moving celebration of 10 years of service dedicated to courageous women and girls seeking justice from gender-based violence.

Senator Jim Webb, D-Va., and Congressman James Moran, D-Va., two accomplished human rights advocates, provide inspiring remarks to a large audience of distinguished guests.

Senator Webb, the evening’s Keynote Speaker, is a tireless champion for the rights of vulnerable communities, a principled commitment apparent in the eloquent remarks he shared. Senator Webb, Virginia’s newest Senator, has a distinguished military and public service career and has done extensive pro bono work with the Vietnamese community in an effort to promote peace and economic development. Senator Webb is also involved in issues affecting veterans. He is committed to protecting women and girls fleeing gender-based violence, and only days before the Benefit his office referred an abused woman to Tahirih’s offices. In addition, Senator Webb has supported our advocacy efforts to ensure victims’ access to police protection.

Congressman Jim Moran, a committed supporter of Tahirih’s efforts to provide critical legal representation and social service referrals for immigrant women and girls fleeing gender-based violence, provided remarks and introduced Senator Jim Webb. Congressman Moran has supported Tahirih’s work to end exploitation by international marriage broker agencies and was a key advocate in the passage of the International Marriage Broker Regulation Act. Congressman Moran has requested an appropriation from Congress to fund Tahirih’s efforts in protecting vulnerable women and girls.

This year, Tahirih presented three awards—hand painted artwork by children of Tahirih clients—to two organizations and an individual who have shown an extraordinary commitment over the years to furthering Tahirih’s mission and to ending violence against women. The awards included the Law Firm of the Year Award to Covington & Burling LLP, the Pushing the Envelope Award to EILEEN FISHER, and Volunteer Service Award to Leslie Nickel.

Also during the evening, we announced the launch of our national expansion initiative, which, by leveraging Tahirih’s relationships with pro bono attorneys at national law firms, will ultimately enable Tahirih to serve vulnerable immigrant women and girls around the country.

The evening concluded with inspiring remarks from Tahirih’s client speaker, Ibrahima.* Ibrahima suffered brutal violence in her native Sudan due to her political activities opposing the government and the regime’s enforcement of a traditional dress code for Muslim women. She was also abused for years by her husband who did not tolerate her views. With support from Tahirih, Ibrahima was granted asylum in January 2003, and now lives safely in Virginia with her two sons. Ibrahima recently received her master’s degree from George Mason University and is working as a network administrator.

Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan, Honorary Chair
Maye Aghazadeh
Karen Bowman
Donna Callejon & Deborah Whiteside
Laurie Plessala & Juan Carlos Duperier
Her Royal Highness Princess Dana Firas
Michael & Debbie Goldberg
Pamela & Richard Hanlon
Michael MacLeod
Karen Hofmeister
Marianne Keler
Neda & Hamid Moayad
Joanne Moore
Jan Pederson
Jacqueline S. Eghrari-Sabet & Sina Sabet
Nigel Schulterbrant-Gragg
Kate & Richard Weisman
Rainn Wilson
Debra Winger

Altria Group, Inc.
Shell Oil Company

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

The Estee Lauder Companies Inc.

Arnold & Porter LLP
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Goldman, Sachs & Co.
Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP

Comcast of the District
Covington & Burling LLP
Crowell & Moring
Goodwin Procter
Hogan & Hartson LLP
Marianne Keler
Maggio & Kattar
Leslie Nickel, Esq.
Pederson Immigration Law Group, PC
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP

R.A. Abdoo and Company, LLC
Allied International Corporation
American University Washington College of Law
Kathleen Behan, Esq.
Calvert Group, Ltd.
Illumine, LLC
Mike Mihalke & Julie Gould
Mintz Levin Cohn Ferris Glovsky and Popeo, PC
Prism Public Affairs
ResCare, Inc.
Steptoe & Johnson LLP

KPMG Foundation
Steven and Sheila Miller Foundation
Gil Muro, Sr.
Time Warner, Inc.
The Whitehead Foundation

Children’s Room Sponsor
Freddie Mac Foundation

*Name has been changed to protect privacy.